External Scholarships

The following scholarships are offered by external groups and agencies.  Please follow the directions provided in the attachements for more information or to apply.

Virginia "Bea" Root Scholarships

The Paralyzed Veterans of America, WI Chapter scholarship programs were established to support individuals who are committed to providing quality medical care to veterans living with spinal cord injury or diseases. Our Chapter’s priority is to ensure the influx of highly qualified medical staff into the arena of spinal cord medicine and rehabilitation. Offering current and future veterans that are suffering spinal cord injury or disease would continue to receive the best care possible from the staff of the Spinal Cord Injury Unit of Zablocki VA Medical Center and other VA Medical Centers offering such care.

 Five types of scholarships are available to individuals pursuing their education in spinal cord injury medicine in the following career fields: Nursing, Practical Nursing, Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, and Recreational Therapy.


Kathy Welter Memorial Nursing Scholarship

The Paralyzed Veterans of America, WI Chapter is pleased to announce that we are accepting applications for the Kathy Welter Memorial Nursing Scholarship. The scholarship consists of  ONE (1) $2,000.00 (two thousand dollars) Scholarship annually awarded  to the Applicant who is the “best fit” for the necessary criteria.  This scholarship program is geared to CNA I, CNA II, and LPN personnel who have 2 (two) or more years of work experience, are currently working with a Spinal Cord Injury/Disease floor or center, and are aspiring to obtain an RN certification in the State of Wisconsin. This scholarship program includes students who are in their junior or senior year of an RN program, recognized by the State of Wisconsin, for acquiring RN certification and have intentions of working at a SCI/D facility. In return, PVA WI asks that the recipient seek employment in a Spinal Cord Injury Unit or in a Rehabilitation facility for one (1) year, to be completed within a three (3) year period after graduation.

Apply for this scholarship

Wisconsin AHEC

Wisconsin AHEC will again host an Interprofessional Healthcare Case Competition during fall/winter. This competition is for college-level health profession students from any degree or discipline. 

Students will create a team of 4 to 5 students, with at least three different degrees/professions represented. The student teams will receive a case study (every team receives the same case) and each team will conduct an analysis of interprofessional efforts during the care of a patient/client. At the end of the process, the top 8 teams will present their findings to a panel of judges at the formal  competition event on January 8 & 9, 2015, at the Kalahari Resort in the Wisconsin Dells. The first place team will win $3,000, with additional cash prizes for 2nd and 3rd place teams.

Online applications will open in early September, and are due October 3. Additional details and FAQs are posted online at: http://www.ahec.wisc.edu/ip-competitions

Information on Competition

Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Foundation

 The Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Foundation offers two $2,000 scholarships and two $1,000 scholarships to assist students enrolled in broacasting-related educational programs at public or private colleges or univerties, broadcast/media schools and Wisconsin technical colleges.  Students who meet eligibility requirements are encouraged to apply for these scholarships.  The deadline for application is Friday, October 17, 2014, and all applications must be received by the WBA office by this date.

For more information or to apply download the scholarship application.